Depto De Sacatepequez Guatemala Postal Code

About Depto De Sacatepequez

There are 22 departments in Guatemala. Sacatepequez is one of them, and it's called that. In November 1542, there was a city called Sacatepequez. It was a city until July 29, 1773, when it was destroyed by the 1773 Guatemalan Earthquake (Santa Marta Earthquake). A word in the Nahuatl language called Sacatepequez means "grasshill." There are a lot of textiles for sale in Antigua Guatemala, which is the capital of Sacatepequez. Ciudad Vieja and San Lucas Sacatepequez, which also has a market and is a good place to eat, are two other important cities. The Chajoma were a group of indigenous people who spoke Kaqchikel. They called Mixco Viejo their capital, and they spread across the Sacatepequez Department until their capital was moved to Ciudad Vieja, in Antigua.

As well as Sacatepequez, Zacatepeques has also been used to write the same word.

Postal Codes formatting