Sachsen(Saxony) Germany Postal Code

About Sachsen(Saxony)

In German, the state of Saxony is called the Free State of Saxony. It is bordered by Brandenburg, Saxony-Anhalt, Thuringia, and Bavaria. It is also bordered by countries like Poland and the Czech Republic. It has a capital city called Dresden, and the largest city in it is called Leipzig. There are more than 4 million people in Saxony, the tenth-largest state in Germany. It is also the sixth-largest, with an area of 18,413 square miles.

The history of Saxony has been going on for more than a thousand years now. Throughout history, it has been a mediaeval duchy, an electorate of the Holy Roman Empire, an electorate of the Holy Roman Empire, and a kingdom. When the Weimar Republic was set up in 1918, the first Free State of Saxony was set up as one of its states. After World War II, it became part of the communist East Germany. The government took it away in 1952. Following the reunification of Germany, the Free State of Saxony was reformed in 1990 with new borders. It became one of the five new states of the Federal Republic of Germany.

The modern state of Saxony should not be confused with the area where the Saxons lived, which is not the same as the area where the Saxons lived. Old Saxony is about the same size as the modern German states of Lower Saxony, Saxony-Anhalt, and the Westphalian part of North Rhine-Westphalia, but it isn't exactly the same.

Postal Codes formatting